Seven circle type Tanka of Nasir al-Din Mahmud Shah

02 Aug 2018  Thu

Nasir al-Din Mahmud Shah was a Sultan of Bengal who ruled the sultanate from 1433/34 to 1459 AD. He was the descendant of Shamsuddin Ilyas Shah of Bengal.

Nasir Al-Din Mahmud issued coins in various types and varieties. Most of his coins have the normal inscription, but in some coins images with some numbers are also found. The lion Tanka which he had issued in the year AH 849 from the various mints is amongst the most prominent coins.

His seven circles type silver Tanka was struck at Dakhil Banjaliya mint. The obverse of a coin inscribed with Arabic legend Nasir Shah in four circles (one in the centre, three on the periphery); al-Sultan in three circles (all on the periphery), circles separated by crescents along the margin. The reverse of a coin depicts Arabic legend Nasir al-Islam Ghauth al-Muslimeen within a lotus-shaped cartouche, followed by a date in numerals and mint name.

This silver Tanka was sold for INR 2,50,000 by Classical Numismatic Gallery.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base