Stamps of German State of Bremen

31 Jul 2018  Tue

Bremen is a city in the north of Germany near the North Sea. It was a part of the Hanseatic League and was its own city-state before the Confederation of Germany.

German states stamps for the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen were first issued in 1855. Bremen stamps can be divided into the three groups, the first issues being imperforate, the second group of issues being rouletted, and the last group being perforated.

First stamps of the German State of Bremen were issued between 1855 and 1860 which came with 4 denominations of 3Grote, 5Grote, 7Grote and V SGrote. All of the stamps of Bremen, though slightly different in frame design, depict the arms of the city-state, consisting of a key over a shield with a crown above.

At the time the first stamps were issued, Bremen was a thriving city of about 122,000 residents.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base