Silver Abbasi coin of Sultan Husain

30 Jul 2018  Mon

The Safavid dynasty was one of the most significant ruling dynasties of Iran. They considered the beginning of the modern Iranian history. They established the twelve school of Shia Islam as the official religion of the empire.

Sultan Husain was Safavid Shah of Iran. He ruled from 1694 until he overthrown in 1722 by rebellious Mahmud Hotaki, an Afghan of Pashtun. His reign saw the downfall of the Safavid dynasty, which had ruled Persia since the beginning of the 16th century.

The above shown silver Abbasi was issued in the reign of Sultan Husain. The obverse of a coin depicts with Shia Kalima within a circle ‘La Ilaha Illallahu Muhammad-ur-Rasulullah Ali Waliullah’ and names of twelve Imams around. The reverse of coin inscribed with Persian legend ‘Husain Bandah-i Shah-i Wilayat Zarb Qazvin Sanah 1131’.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base