Commemorative currency note of Srilanka

26 Jul 2018  Thu

On the 70th Independence celebration of the country, the Central Bank of Srilanka issued a circulation standard commemorative currency note of denomination rupees 1000. It is the 4th commemorative banknote issued by the Central Bank. The size, colour and security features of this commemorative currency notes is a same as the current circulating Rs 1000.

The obverse of this stamp illustrates diversity logo at the lower left corner that replaces the butterfly in the current circulating Rs 1000. The image of the temple, mosque, Tamil Kovil and a church are depicted in the centre replacing the image of Ramboda Tunnel. Even the prefix of the note as S70 replacing the prefix S.

This note is a legal tender in the country; it was also officially presented to the Hon. Minister of Finance, Mr Mangala Samaraweera.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base