5 South Sudanese Pound banknote of 2015

11 Jul 2018  Wed

South Sudan, officially known as the Republic of South Sudan, is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. The country gained its independence from Sudan in 2011, making it the newest country with widespread recognition. Its capital and largest city is Juba.

The South Sudanese pound is the official currency of the Republic of South Sudan. It is subdivided into 100 piasters. It was approved by the Southern Sudan Legislative Assembly before secession on 9 July 2011 from Sudan. It was introduced on 18 July 2011 and replaced the Sudanese pound at par.

The first circulation coins of the South Sudanese Pound denominated in 10, 20, and 50 piasters were issued July 9, 2015, on occasion of the fourth anniversary of independence from Sudan. Three new banknotes for 5, 10, and 25 piasters were issued 19 October 2011.

Today we are looking at a 2015 5 South Sudanese Pound banknote. The note specifications are as follows:

Obverse: Effigy of Dr John Garang de Mabior (1945 - 2005), a Sudanese politician and leader, is depicted to left with a Dinka warrior’s spear to the extreme right. Legends “Bank of South Sudan” in the top centre and the promissory text “Promise to pay the bearer on demand Five South Sudanese Pound” with numerical denominational value in the background. Two signatures of Governor and Minister of Finance are seen in the centre. Watermark window to right.

Reverse: Brown and maroon on multicoloured underprint banknote with the native cattle breed ‘Sanga Juba’ of the Dinka people to right. Text “Bank of Sudan” is seen in the centre top and denominational value in words and number at centre bottom. Watermark window to left. The note has a stylised complex design pattern.

Image Courtesy: Kb Coins

Knowledge Base