28 Jun 2018  Thu

The Rashidun Caliphate, which means "Rightly Guided" in Arabic, is the term for the first four caliphs of the Islamic world. It was the first of the four major Caliphates established after the death of Prophet Muhammad in 632 CE.

The caliphate controlled a vast empire, including large amounts of territory in the Arabian Peninsula and Northern Africa, making it the largest empire in history up to that time.

Abu Bakr, a close companion of Muhammad from the Banu Tym clan, was elected the first Rashidun leader and began the conquest of the Arabian Peninsula. He ruled from 632 until his death in 634. Abu Bakr was succeeded by Umar, from the Banu Adi clan, who began the conquest of Persia from 642 to 651, leading to the defeat of the Sassanid Empire. He was succeeded by Uthman, who began the conquest of Armenia, Fars, and Khorasan. Uthman was succeeded by Ali.

They are the most important leaders of the Islamic world. The glance of these Khalifa-e-Rashiddoons names can also be seen on the Indian Islamic Coinage like Delhi Sultanate, Malwa Sultanate, Bengal Sultanate, Mughals and Suris.

The beautiful example of these coins is seen on the coin which is depicted above. This coin was issued in the reign of Sikandar Shah of Bengal Sultanate from Nawalistan Mint. The obverse of the coin engraved the Persian legend ‘al-Wathiq bi-Tayeed al-Rahman Abu al-Mujahid Sikandar Shah ibn Ilyas Shah al-Sultan’ and names of Rashidoons in small circles, separated by al-Mu’azzam, around. The reverse of the coin inscribed with legend Yameen al-Khilafat Allah Nasir Amir al-Mumineen Ghauth al-Islam wa al-Muslimeen Khallada Khilafatahu; within a scalloped cartouche and scalloped cartouche around.

Image Source: Todywalla Auctions

Knowledge Base