Coins of Bengal Sultan Ghiyath-Al-Din Azam

23 Jun 2018  Sat

Ghiyath Al-Din Azam ruled Bengal Sultanate from 1839 to 1410 CE. He was the third Sultan of Ilyas Shahi Dynasty and one of the most prominent rulers of Bengal Sultanate during the medieval period. He sat on the throne by overthrowing his father Sikandar Shah. He had also conquered Kamarupa, (today in modern Assam) during the beginning period of his reign.

Ghiytah Al-Din Azam had issued coins in gold and silver. In gold, he issued denominations like Tanka, and one-Sixteen Tanka. Gold tanks issued by him weigh around 10.8 to 11.6g, and One-Sixteen Tanka issued by him weighs around 0.7g. In silver metal, he issued denominations like Three-Tanka, Tanka, Half-Tanka, Quarter-Tanka, One-Eighth Tanka and One-Sixteen Tanka.

This silver tanka was issued by Ghiyath-Al-Din Azam, itweigh around 10.7g and was minted in Hadrat Firuzabad. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘Ghiyath Al-Dunya Wa’l Din Abul Muzaffar Azam Shah Al-Sultan’ within rhombus, and Al-Sultan Al-Azam Al-Muayyad Bi-Tayid Al-Mulk Al-Rahman’ written in the margin. The reverse of the coin is inscribed as ‘Nasir Amir Al-Muminin Ghawth Al-Islam Wa’l Muslimin Khallada Mulkahu’.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base