Gold Mohur of Farrukhsiyar

21 Jun 2018  Thu

Farrukhsiyar’s accessioned to the throne of the Mughal Empire in 1713 AD after he murdered Jahandar Shah. His reign saw the primacy of the Sayyid brothers, who became the effective power behind the facade of the Mughal rule. Farrukhsiyar sat on the throne as the puppet of Sayyid brothers. Later on, when he opposed these two kingmakers they imprisoned him.

Coins of Farukhsiyar were issued in gold, silver and copper from various mints. The denominations are such as Paisa, Mohur, Rupee, Dam, Fanam, Pagoda, Nisar, and Legal Dirham etc.

The obverse of this gold Mohur is inscribed as ‘Sikka Zad Az Fazl-e-Haq Bar Sim-o-Zar Badshah Bhar-o-Bar Farrukhsiyar’ and reverse of a coin is inscribed as ‘Sanah RY 7 Julus Maimanat Manus Zarb Mustaqir ul Khilafat Akbarabad’.

Image Courtesy: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base