Gwalior Fort was captured

20 Jun 2018  Wed

20th June 1858, the day when Gwalior Fort is captured by British troops and the first Indian Sepoy Mutiny officially comes to an end.

The Indian Rebellion of 1857 was a major uprising in India between 1857 to58 against the rule of the British East India Company. The event is known by names, including the Sepoy of Mutiny, the Indian Mutiny, the great rebellion, and the Revolt of 1857.

The rebellion began on 10 May 1857 in the form of Mutiny of Sepoys of the company’s army in the garrison town of Meerut. It then erupted into other mutinies and civilian rebellions chiefly in the upper Gangatic plain and central India; however incidents of revolts also occurred further north and east.

From the end of 1857, the British had gain ground. Lucknow was retaken in March 1858. On 8 July 1858, a peace treaty was signed and the rebellion ended. The last rebels were defeated in Gwalior on 20th June 1858.

To commemorate this fort, India Post issued a stamp having a face value of 50 Paisa.

Image Source: Mintage World

Knowledge Base