Gold Tanka of Jaunpur Sultanate

18 Jun 2018  Mon

The Jaunpur Sultanate was ruled by Sharqi dynasty. Khwajah-i-Jahan Malik Sarwar, the first ruler of the dynasty, was a Wazir (minister) under Sultan Nasiruddin Muhammad Shah (1390–1394 AD). In 1394, he established himself as an independent ruler of Jaunpur.

Husain Shah had ruled the Jaunpur Sultanate from the year 1458 AD till 1479 AD. During his reign, he issued coins in all the four metals like gold, silver, copper and billon (an alloy).

Represented here is a gold Tanka issued during the reign of Husain Shah. The obverse of this coin depicts the Persian legend ‘Fi Zaman al-Imam Nai'b Amir al-Muminin Abu al-Fateh Khulidat Khilafatahu’ with traces of date in the margins. The reverse of this coin inscribed with Persian legend in beautiful Tughra calligraphy ‘al-Muayyad ba-Tayid Allah Husain Shah bin Mahmud Shah bin Ibrahim Shah Sultani’.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base