Commemorative Coins of India

25 Apr 2018  Wed

Commemorative coins are coins that were issued to commemorate some particular event. Such coins are issued on some special occasion to mark or some special event. They are also issued as a mark of respect towards some distinguished individuals or monument. They are issued for general circulation or in special packages for collectors. These special packages are called as uncirculated sets (UNC) or proof sets. These special packages are quite expensive. Commemorative coins are issued in a various denomination ranging from 5 Paisa to 100 rupees. Lower denomination coins are issued for general circulation and they are made up of base metal, whereas higher denomination coins are made of silver metal and they are made for collection purpose only.

In India the first commemorative coins were issued in the year 1964, the depiction the image of India’s first Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru on it.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction.

Knowledge Base