Princely State Faridkot

07 Mar 2018  Wed

Faridkot was a Princely State during the British rule in India. Today the city is situated in the Indian state of Punjab. During the British Raj, a large part of this state was under the rule of the Maharajas of Faridkot.

In the year 1948, it became the part of Patiala and East Punjab State Union (PEPSU). It was carved out as a separate district on 7th August 1972 from the area of Bathinda District (Faridkot Tehsil) and Firozpur District (Moga and Muktsar District Tehsils). In the year 1995, Faridkot district was trifurcated when two of its subdivision Muktsar and Moga were given the status of Independent district.

This Nazarana 1/3 Mohur was issued by Harindar Singh in the year 1932 CE. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with the bust of Harinder Singh facing towards left with the legend ‘H.H. RAJA SIR HARINDAR SINGH BRAR BANS BAHADUR’ around. The reverse of the coin inscribed Coats Of Arms with name ‘Farikot State’ above and date 1932 below.

This extremely rare coin was sold for INR 1,40,000 at Todywalla Auction.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base