Coin to Celebrate Estonian Independence!

27 Jan 2018  Sat

Estonia will be releasing a circulating commemorative €2 ringed-bimetallic coin marking 100 years of the country’s independence. 24th February is celebrated every year as the national day of independence. After independence was declared, Estonia had to keep fighting against Russia for 14 months from 28th November 1918. Finally, the Treaty of Tartu was signed on 2nd February 1920 between Estonia and Russia, leading to complete independence.

The obverse features flying doves along with the numbers 18 and 100 which stand for the year of independence 1918 and the 100th anniversary occasion respectively. Other inscriptions include SADA AASTAT EESTI VABARIIKI, country name EESTI and the year of issuance 2018.

1,317,800 coins will be released someday in January or February 2018. The 8.5 grams coin has a copper-nickel core and copper-aluminum-nickel ring that features 12 stars of the European flag. The reverse design features a map of the European Union.

Knowledge Base