Madras Presidency

02 May 2018  Wed

The Madras Presidency also known as Madras Provinces was the administrative subdivision of British India. It includes almost all the southern part of India - Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and the part of Odisha, Kerala, Karnataka and the union territory of Lakshadweep.

Later on, there were around five Indian princely states that came under the political control of Madras Presidency; these five states were Cochin, Sandur, Banganpalle, Travancore, and Pudukkottai.

This Presidency was founded in the year 1639 CE , the Fort St. George was converted into chief factory on the east coast in the 1641 CE. Later, this fort was also made as a mint place. Coins which were struck here were struck in the style of Vijaynagar Empire.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base