Princely State of Mewar

18 Jan 2018  Thu

Mewar is the region of south-central Rajasthan state in western India. The kingdom of Mewar was established around 530 CE. This state includes present-day districts of Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Udaipur, Pirawa Tehsil District, Jhalawar of Rajasthan, Neemuch, Mandsaur of Madhya Pradesh and some regions of Gujarat.

Chittorgarh was the capital of Mewar. It was conquered by the Mughal Emperor Akhbar in 1568 CE. Thereafter, it remained in the Mughal control for next 150 years. When Udaipur state joined the Indian Union in 1949 it had many glorious years of ruled by several dynasties of Mori, Guhilot and Sisodia. The rulers of Mewar used the title “Maharana”.

This gold half mohur of ‘Swarupshahi’ series was issued from the mint of Udaipur. The weight of the coin is around 5.5g. The obverse of the coin depicts legend in Devanagari ‘Chitrakut Udaipur’. The reverse of the coin depicts legend in Devanagari script; it reads ‘Dosti landhan’.

Knowledge Base