Silver Tanka of Mubarak Shah

11 Jan 2018  Thu

Sayyid dynasty was the fourth dynasty of Delhi Sultanate from 1414 to 1451 CE. They succeeded Tughlaq dynasty and ruled the sultanate till they were replaced by Lodi Dynasty.

Mubarak Shah was the second ruler of Sayyid dynasty which ruled the Delhi Sultanate from 1421 to 1434 CE. A detailed account of his reign is available in the Tarikh-i-Mubarak Shahi written by Yahya-bin-Ahmad Sirhindi.

During the first seven years of his reign, he did not issue any coin in his own name, He continued to strike coins with the posthumous types of Firuz Tughlaq and Muhammad Bin Firuz. Coins which he issued with his own name are very rare.

This silver Tanka which weighs around 11.1g was minted during the reign of Mubarak Shah. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with Arabic legend ‘Fi Ahad Al Sultan Ghazi Al Mutawakil Ali Al Rahman Mubarak Shah Sultan’. The reverse of the coins is inscribed as Fi Zaman Al-Imam Amir Al Muminin Khulidat Khilafatuhu’.

Knowledge Base