Bharatpur Silver Nazarana Rupee

20 Dec 2017  Wed

Bharatpur or Bhurtpore was a native Hindu Princely state of India which belonged to the Rajputana agency. Currently, it is located in the Brij region of Rajasthan. The name Bharatpur is derived from the name Bharat, brother of Lord Rama. The state was an invincible, well-fortified city, and the capital of the empire ruled by Jat Maharajas.

Bharatpur was founded by Suraj Mal in the year 1733. Bharatpur became increasingly associated with the Maratha ambitions. In spite of their treaty ties with the East India Company, they assisted the Maratha Confederacy in their struggle against the British.

This silver Nazarana Rupee was issued by Jaswant Singh from the mint Braj Indrapur. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with the image of Queen Victoria with the date 1808 CE. The reverse of the coin is inscribed with the mint mark star and Katar (Dagger) and name and title of the king with mint name and date VS 1914.

Knowledge Base