Coins struck during the Second Anglo Sikh War

08 Dec 2017  Fri

The Second Anglo-Sikh War (1848-49) took place between the British and the Sikh Empire. The war resulted in a decisive victory of the British. The British took control over Punjab and later made it the North West Frontier Province.

After the Treaty of Lahore, Sir Henry Lawrence was appointed at the Lahore Durbar to control the policies. He left England due to some disease, and in his place, a lawyer named Sir Frederick Currie was appointed at the Lahore Durbar.

At this time the city of Multan, which was part of the Sikh empire, was governed by Dewan Mulraj, a Hindu chieftain, who started acting independently.

Sir Frederick Currie, was a legalist and a puritan, who asked the somewhat independent Governor of Multan, Diwan Mulraj to pay arrears of the taxes. When the British officers were sent to the Mulraj’s fortress, he revolted, attacked and wounded them. These wounded officers were saved by some people but the angry mob killed them the next day. But the small army of Mul Raj was defeated and again there was a rebellion. The war prolonged for months and Sikhs were defeated. The whole of Punjab was annexed on 29 March 1849.

Above shown Gold Rupee was struck within the city of Multan under the authority of Diwan Mulraj during the British siege. This coin was sold for INR 75,000 at Classical Numismatic Gallery.

To know more about the Sikh coinsclick here.

Knowledge Base