Akbar’s Coinage

13 Sep 2017  Wed

Mughal Empire was founded in the year 1526 in the Indian subcontinent. The Mughals belonged to a branch of Timurid dynasty. With the establishment of British Empire in India, both their rule and their power diminished from India.

Akbar was the third king of the Mughal Dynasty and sat on the Mughal throne in the year 1556 AD. He reigned for almost 50 years. During his reign, Mughal Empire reached its highest peak. Coins issued by Akbar provide a powerful reflection of his personality. Out of all the Mughal Emperors, coinage of Akbar is the most beautiful and varied.

Coinage of Akbar can be divided into two categories ‘Kalima’ and ‘Ilahi’ (Non-Kalima).

Coins which were issued with the ‘Kalima’ had the name of the emperor along with the name of mint (with or without an Epithet) and Hijri date on the obverse; and ‘Kalima’ with the name of four caliphs on the reverse.

Ilahi coins issued by him have ilahi creed ‘Allahu Akbar Jalle Jallaluhu’ on the obverse and Persian month followed by word ilahi; with Ilahi year and mint name.

The gold mohur shown in the picture above was minted at Dar-us-Sultanate Ahmedabad. It weighs 10.8g. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with the name and title of the king with the mint name and the reverse of the coin is inscribed with Kalima within the square with AH date 981 and the name of four caliphs written in the margin.