Philatelic Bureaus of India

17 Jul 2017  Mon

Bombay Philatelic Bureau was the first bureau in India which was inaugurated on 21st June 1941. It was in operation for over seven years, after which nine more such bureaus were opened on 15th August 1948 across India. Today, there are 81 philatelic bureaus in India, out of which the Philatelic Bureau in Pune General Post Office was opened on 28th August 1977.

Personalised sheets of Postage Stamps of India Post are called as “My Stamp”, was introduced during the World Philatelic Exhibition, ‘INDIPEX-2011’. A thumb nail photograph of the customer images, logos, artwork, heritage buildings, tourist places, historical cities, wildlife etc. are printed near the Commemorative Postage Stamp. The concept has become very popular among collectors and stamp lovers all over the country.

The Philatelic Bureau in Pune General Post Office has displayed many of these special releases, first-day covers and philatelic innovations to create more interest among the general public. The Bureau has more than 3,500 account holders and many collectors come down to buy stamps here.