Performers on Naira Banknote

27 May 2022  Fri

The naira currency was introduced on 1 January 1973. Naira was replaced by the Nigerian pound at a rate of 2 nairas is equal to 1 pound. The Central Bank of Nigeria introduced notes for 50 kobos, 1, 5, 10, and 20 nairas on 1st January 1973. The term ‘naira’ was coined from the word Nigeria by Obafemi Awolowo.

Nigeria is the most populous country in Africa. It is located between the Sahel to the north and the Gulf of Guinea to the south in the Atlantic Ocean. The border of the country touches Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the east, and Benin in the west.

The 5 naira of Nigeria depicts Alhaji Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa. He was a Nigerian politician who was the first and only Prime Minister of Nigeria. The other side of the banknote features performing artists or dancers.

Disclaimer: Due to the latest government guideline, deliveries may take a little longer time than usual.

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm