Mexico's 20-Peso Banknote

21 May 2022  Sat

The Mexican peso is the currency of Mexico. The name was first used in reference to pesos oro (gold weights) or pesos Plata (silver weights). The Spanish word peso means "weight".

The first banknotes issued by the Mexican state were produced in 1823 by Emperor Agustin de Iturbide in denominations of 1, 2, and 10 pesos. In September 2006, a new series of banknotes was issued. Each banknote featured iconic people of Mexico and iconic architectural or cultural elements.

This polymer 20 Mexican pesos banknote shows Benito Juarez, the 26th President of Mexico. Born to an indigenous family in a poor rural area, Juarez became a successful lawyer and liberal politician. He was appointed President in 1857 and remained in office until his death in 1872. The reverse side of the Veinte Pesos note depicts Monte Alban, a large archeological site in Oaxaca from the pre-Columbian era.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm