Magnified Devanagri Legends on Mewar Coins

25 Oct 2021  Mon

Bhupal Singh issued a copper Half Anna in 1999 Vikram Samvat. The obverse of the coin features, “Chitarkot Udaipur, Aadh Anna in Devanagari”. And the reverse of the coin depicts, “Dosti Lundhun in Devanagari, VS date”.

Bhupal Singh belongs to Mewar Princely state. Mewar state was also known as Udaipur state. The Mewar kingdom was established around 530 AD. Chittorgarh, the capital of Mewar was conquered by the Mughal Emperor Akhbar in 1568. Thereafter, it remained under Mughals for the next 150 years. It was ruled by several dynasties of Mori, Guhilot and Sisodia.

The rulers of Mewar used the title “Maharana”. The state includes present-day districts of Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Raj samand, Udaipur, Pirawa Tehsil District Jhalawar of Rajasthan, Neemuch, Mandsaur of Madhya Pradesh and some regions of Gujarat. Geographically, it lies between the Aravali Range to the northwest, Ajmer to the north, Gujarat and the Vagad region of Rajasthan to the south, the Malwa region of Madhya Pradesh state to the southeast and the Hadoti region of Rajasthan to the east.

Image Courtesy: Mintage World

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm