Euro Coin – the 1st Map

01 Jan 2021  Fri

On 1 January 1999, eleven European countries took a historical step forwards by entering Stage Three of Economic and Monetary Union. The euro came into existence on 1 January 1999.

It had been a goal of the European Union (EU) and its predecessors since the 1960s. In 1999 the currency was born virtually and in 2002 notes and coins began to circulate. It rapidly replaced the former national currencies and the eurozone has since expanded further to some newer EU states.

Given above is the common side of the 2 Euro coin. One was issued in 1999 and the other was issued in 2007. The 1999 coin depicts the EU only map with borders i.e. the first 12 members of the European Union. The other coin, on the contrary, depicts a map of the whole continent of Europe without borders.

The Euro Coins have a common side which means that the reverse sides of the Euro Coins depict the same design while the obverse depends on the issuing country. All have to include twelve stars (in most cases a circle around the edge), the engraver's initials and the year of issue.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base