Copper Coin of King Suryamitra of Mathura

03 Dec 2020  Thu

The Mathura dynasty is also known as Mitra Dynasty; this dynasty got this name from the suffix ‘Mitra’. The Mathura dynasty had ruled the area of Mathura from around 150 BC to 50 BC. Coins issued by the rulers of this dynasty bear only their name without any title; therefore they are simply called the Mitra rulers of Mathura. The Mitra dynasty was replaced by the Indo-Scythian Northern Satraps from around 60 BCE.

This copper coin that weighs around 7.64g was issued by king Suryamita of Mathura. The obverse of this coin depicts ‘Standing Goddess Laxmi, with one arm raised and tree to the left, the Ujjain symbol is to the right side of goddess Laxmi; Brahmi legend Suryamitrasa written above goddess Laxmi. The reverse side of the coin depicts traces of elephants.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base