Story of Mirabel Sisters on a Banknote

25 Nov 2020  Wed

The Mirabal sisters were four sisters of the Dominican Republic known commonly as Patria, Minerva, Maria Teresa, and Dede, who opposed the dictatorship of Rafael Trujillo (El Jefe) and were involved in underground activities against his regime. Three of the four sisters (Patria, Minerva, and Maria Teresa) were assassinated on 25 November 1960.

Rafael Trujillo was a Dominican dictator who ruled the Dominican Republic for 31 years. His 31 years in power are considered one of the bloodiest eras ever in the Americas. Trujillo and his regime were responsible for many deaths, including between 5,000 and 67,000 Haitians in the infamous Parsley massacre.

Mirabel Sidter Minerva became involved in the political movement against Trujillo On 25 November 1960, Patria, Minerva, MarĂ­a Teresa were murdered by Trujillo's henchmen. In 1981, activists at the Latin American and Caribbean Feminist Encuentros marked November 25 as a day to combat and raise awareness of violence against women more broadly; on December 17, 1999, the date received its official United Nations (UN) resolution.

They are featured on the number of Banknotes of The Dominican Republic. The above banknote is a 200 Pesos Oro banknote of 2007. The banknote depicts The Mirabal Sisters on the front along with the seal of the Central Bank of the Republic, a butterfly symbolizing the Mirabal sisters and the blossoms of the Mahogany Tree. The reverse of the banknote depicts Monument to the Mirabal Sisters in Salcedo in a small park across the street from the Mirabal family's first home in Ojo de Aqua.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base