Copper coin of Kshatrapas of Mathura

05 Nov 2020  Thu

Kshatrapas of Mathura is also known as Nothern Kshtrapa, they belong to the Indo-Scythian ruler. After the decline of Indo-Greek, they hold the area of Eastern Punjab and Mathura. They controlled this region from 1st Century CE to 2nd Century CE. To differentiate them from the western Kshtrapas they are said they are called Nothern Kshtrapas. It is said that they have replaced the last Indo-Greek kings in Eastern Punjab. They also replaced the Mitra dynasty and the Datta dynasty of local Indian rulers in Mathura.

This copper paisa was issued by king Hagamasha during his rule. The obverse of this coin depicts ‘Goddess Lakshmi standing facing on the satrapal symbol, holding a lotus, tree to right, Brahmi legend “Khatapasa Hagamasha(a)” around. The reverse of this coin depicts as ’Traces of horse symbol and legend Kshatrapas Hagamasha’.

Image Courtesy: Oswal Antiques

Knowledge Base