Silver Tanka of Sultan of Bengal Shams al-Din Ilyas Shah

08 Oct 2020  Thu

The Bengal Sultanate was a Sunni Muslim monarchy with Indo-Turkish, Arab, Habshi, and Bengali Muslim elites. The Bengal Sultanate was the Islamic Kingdom, which was established in Bengal during the 14th Century in the Indian subcontinent on the coast of Bay of Bengal. This kingdom is considered as the first independent kingdom unified as the Bengal kingdom under Muslim rule. The Bengal Sultanate was dominated by numerous dynasties of Turkic, Arab, and Persian, Bengali, and Abyssinian origin. This silver tanka was issued by Shams Al-Din Ilyas Shah from the mint Firuzabad during this rule in Bengal Sultanate. Shams Al-Din Ilyas Shah was the first ruler and the founder of the Bengal Sultanate. Shams Al-Din Ilyas Shah established Ilyas Shah Dynasty; this dynasty ruled Bengal Sultanate for almost 150 years. The obverse side of this silver tanka is inscribed as ‘Al-Sultan al-Ghazi Shams al-Dunyawa al-Din Abu al-MuzaffarIlyas Shah al-Sultan. The reverse side of this silver tanka is inscribed as ‘Sikandar al-Thani Yameen al-Khilafat Nasir Amir al-Mumineen, date & mint details in the margin. Image Courtesy” Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base