Malayan Independence on Coin

31 Aug 2020  Mon

Also known as Hari Merdeka, the Independence Day of Malaysia is celebrated annually on August 31. The day commemorates the independence of the Federation of Malaya from the United Kingdom.

The history of British involvement in Malaya goes back to 1786 when the East India Company established a trading post on Penang Island. In 1896 a federation of Negri Sembilan, Perak, Selangor, and Pahang was established with its capital at Kuala Lumpur. However, after the Second World War, nine Malayan states and two of the Straits Settlements in Southeast Asia were united into a single federation, the Federation of Malaya.

The Malayan Liberation Army immediately started a guerrilla war against the colonial forces. In 1955, Prime Minister of Malaya Tunku Abdul Rahman led a Malayan delegation in negotiations with the British authorities for the independence of Malaya. They reached an agreement in 1956: the British Empire agreed to grant Malaya independence. The independence of Malaya was officially proclaimed on 31st August 1957.

On the 30th Anniversary of Independence, the Royal Mint issued a 250 Ringgit coin which depicts the coat of arms of Malaya on the obverse and Numeral 30 divides dates below crossed encased swords, sun, and building on the reverse.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base