Endangered Animals of the Australian Antarctic Territory!

14 Aug 2020  Fri

In the Australian Antarctic Territory, 10 types of seal and sea lions are found. Out of which, 3 are commonly found in southern Australian waters and the remainder occur in Australia's Antarctic Territory.

The real threat to this species is commercial fishing operations and exposure to harmful marine debris.

The Australian government has listed 3 species of seal and sea lion as threatened under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999. These species are the sub-Antarctic fur seal (Arctocephalustropicalis), the southern elephant seal (Mirounga leonine), and the Australian sea lion (Neophocacinerea). As per this act, it will be an offense to kill, injure, take, trade, keep, or move any member of a listed marine species without a permit.

On 11th September 2001, the Australian government issued a Se-tenant block on endangered animals of the Australian Antarctic Territory where the seal and sea lion is featured.

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Image Courtesy: Stampsoftheworld.co.uk

Knowledge Base