Saurashtra Copper Coin

10 Aug 2020  Mon

Saurashtra is a region of Gujarat India; It is also known as Kathiawar peninsula. It is located on the Arabian Sea coast of the state. Saurashtra is also known as the United States of Khiawar, existed between 1948 and 1956 on Saurashtra alias Kathiawar peninsula with Rajkot as its capital.

The reference of Saurashtra can be fine since from ancient times, It the ancient period Saurashtra was a Janapada. We can also find the reference of Saurashtra in the Indian epic like Ramayana and Mahabharata. In Ramayana, the name ‘Saurashtra’ is applied to the country from Sind to Bharuch (Today’s Kutch). Dwarka, the city from where Lord Krishna ruled, is located in Northern Saurashtra.

This copper coin was issued from the Saurashtra region weighs around 7.73g. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as Standard with Taurine on top, Six arm symbol on left, crude Human figure standing on the right, with Fish below. The reverse of this coin is inscribed as Tortoise.

Image Courtesy: Oswal Antiques

Knowledge Base