Anecdote of Ethiopian Currency

10 Jul 2020  Fri

Before 1976, Birr was known as the Ethiopian dollar. Birr was the unit currency of Ethiopia. Further, subdivided into 100 santims. The first series of banknotes were 5, 10, 100, and 500 talari introduced by the Bank of Abyssinia in 1915. During this period, 280,000 talari worth of notes were printed. The language used on the notes was in Amharic and French. A 50-talari note was added in 1929.

In 1932, the Bank of Ethiopia issued notes in denomination of 5, 10, 50, 100, and 500 talari. A 2-talari note was issued in honour of the Imperial couple on 1st June 1933.

The second series of notes was issued on 23rd July 1945 by the State Bank of Ethiopia and includes denominations of 1, 5, 10, 50, 100, and 500 birr. The National Bank of Ethiopia took over note production in 1966 and issued all denominations except for the 500 birrs.

The recent circulating banknote of 100 denomination features plowing on the front side and man with a microscope on the backside.

Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base