German Occupant’s Alsace- Lorraine

07 Jul 2020  Tue

Alsace and Lorraine territories were won as a victory in Franco- Prussian war by Germans in 1871. The total area covered was 14,496 square kilometers. Strasburg was the capital of the region. It was divided into 3 districts: Upper Alsace, Lower Alsace and Lorraine.

One cannot deny the influence of the rivalry between French and German. During the 9th century, it was the part of Charlemagne’s Frankish empire and later became part of the Germanys of the Holy Roman Empire. The Peace of Westphalia of 1648 gave control of Alsace-Lorraine to France.

Because of its ancient German associations and because of its large German-speaking population, Alsace-Lorraine was incorporated into the German Empire after France’s defeat in the Franco-German War (1870–71). The loss of Alsace-Lorraine was a major cause of anti-German feeling in France in the period from 1871 to 1914.

Alsace- Lorraine was rich in iron ore deposits, iron- and steelmaking plants, and other industries which was the main reason for the greed to have control over it.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base