National Flag Day in Argentina

20 Jun 2020  Sat

In Argentina, National Flag Day is a public holiday celebrated on June 20. It commemorates the anniversary of the death of Manuel Belgrano who created the national flag of Argentina.

The national flag of Argentina is a triband with horizontal bands colored light blue, white, and light blue and a yellow Sun of May (the national emblem of Argentina) located in the center. The triband was designed by Manuel Belgrano, one of the leaders of the Argentine independence movement.

The flag was first raised in Rosario during the Argentine War of Independence. It happened on February 27, 1812. The Congress of Tucumán officially declared the triband as the national flag in 1816. The Sun of May was added in 1818. Civil flag and ensign of Argentina do not have a Sun of May.

Manuel Belgrano died on June 20, 1820. More than a century later, President Roberto María Ortiz declared his death anniversary the Day of the National Flag. The holiday was first observed in 1938. For some time, it had been celebrated on the third Monday in June, but commemoration on a fixed day was eventually restored.

The Banco Central de la República Argentina issued a 10Argentine Peso banknote in the year 2016. Manuel del Grande is pictured on the banknote of 10 Diez Pesos from Argentina. He is also shown on the backside of the ten pesos bill, seated on a horse saluting the Argentinean flag.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base