The last Sultan of the Ottoman Empire

16 May 2020  Sat

The 36th and last Sultan of the Ottoman Empire, Mehmed VI became the Sultan just prior to the end of World War I. He would not last long. Months after his reign was proclaimed, Allied forces occupied Constantinople at the end of the war, and this awoke a Turkish national uprising led by Mustafa Kemal Ataturk.

On November 1, 1922, the Ottoman Empire dissolved and Mehmed was expelled from Constantinople. It became the nation of the Republic of Turkey on October 29, 1923.

The above-shown gold 40 Para coin was issued under the reign of the last Ottoman Sultan, Mehmed VI. This coin was struck in the year 1336 AH from Constantinople mint. The obverse of a coin depicts the Arabic inscription in beautiful Tughra calligraphy. On the other hand, the reverse of a coin engraved inscription ‘40 Para’ within center ‘1336 Daulat-e-Usmaniyah Zarb Fi Qustuntuniyah’ around the coin.

Image Source:

Knowledge Base