Burkina Faso 1000 Francs banknote of 1998

18 Oct 2019  Fri

Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa. Burkina Faso is a francophone country, with French as the official language of governance. The country was called as theRepublic of Upper Volta from 1958 to 1984. It was later renamed as "Burkina Faso" on 4 August 1984 by then-President Thomas Sankara. Its citizens are known as Burkinabe and its capital is Ouagadougou.

The West African CFA franc is the currency of eight independent states in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. When the CFA franc was introduced, notes issued by the Banque Centrale des Etats de l'Afrique Occidentale in denominations of 5, 10, 25, 50, 100 and 1000 francs were in circulation. 500-franc notes were added in 1946, followed by those of 5,000 francs in 1948.

Today we are looking at a 1000 Francs banknote issued in 1998. The obverse depicts a native woman to right with a quarry scene in the background. The reverse has native art to left and a village scene in the background. This yellow-brown note is very beautiful to behold.

Image Courtesy: PicClick

Knowledge Base