Guyana 20 Dollar banknote of 1996

08 May 2019  Wed

Guyana, a country on South America’s North Atlantic coast, is defined by its dense rainforest. English-speaking, with cricket and calypso music, it's culturally connected to the Caribbean region. Its capital, Georgetown, is known for British colonial architecture, including tall, painted-timber St. George’s Anglican Cathedral. A large clock marks the facade of Stabroek Market, a source of local produce.

With an area of 215,000 square kilometres, Guyana is the third-smallest sovereign state on mainland South America after Uruguay and Suriname. The main economic activities in Guyana are agriculture (production of rice and Demerara sugar), bauxite and gold mining, timber, shrimp fishing and minerals. The Guyanese dollar has been the unit of account in Guyana (formerly British Guiana) since 29 January 1839.

Private banknotes were introduced in the late 19th century by the British Guiana Bank and the Colonial Bank. Following Guyana’s independence in 1966, the Guyanese dollar was re-introduced. Today we are discussing A 20 Dollar banknote issued in 1996. The obverse depicts the Coat of arms and the Kaieteur Falls on the Potaro River in central Guyana. The reverse features Ship building to right and Ferry vessel Malali to left.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm