Coin of Jhalawar Princely State

03 Jan 2019  Thu

Jhalawar Princely state was situated in Kathiawar Agency. Its name originated from the Jhala Rajputs. The Jhalawar family owes its origin to Zalim Singh who was a descendant of the Jhala rulers of Wadhwan, from Gujarat.

Maharaja Rajendra Singh was a ruler of Jhalawar state. He succeeded the throne on the death of his father on 13th April 1929 and ruled until death till 2nd September 1943.

This milled ‘Nazrana’ 1 Mohur which weighs around 11.39g was issued in the reign of Maharaja Rajendra Singh minted in 1940. The obverse of the coin depicts the coat arms of the State in the centre, Devanagari legend ‘Maharaja Rana Shri Rajendra Simha Ju Deo Bahadur’ and ‘Rajya Jhalawad’ around the circle. The reverse of the coin bears a raised right hand within a sun like border of flames and Sanskrit inscription ‘Shri Krishna Vishwanta Matarau Jayati’ (Victory to Shri Krishna and the Universal Mother) and the date 1940 around.

On 9th May 1940, the Maharaja's only son, Maharajkumar Veerendra Singh was married to the princess Ila Devi, younger daughter of Raja Rana Sir Bhagat Chand Sahib, Raja of Jubbal. It is believable that this coin was struck at this occasion as part of a bridal 'portent' or Shagun. It bears remarkable similarity in design to presentation coins of Jubbal, which is an interesting coincidence. The symbol of the hand it shows as the royal symbol of the Jhala Rajputs, placed appropriately in a circle of fire to indicate their descent from Agni, the fire God.

This is the first time a machine made Mohur of Jhalawad State is brought to light. This coin was sold for INR 15,00,000 by Classical Numismatic Gallery.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base