Copper Paisa of Gopal Singh

30 Nov 2018  Fri

Jhabua was the Princely State of India during the period of British Raj. In the early period State was under the Bhopawar Agency of Central India and later, it became a part of the Malwa Agency in 1927. After India’s independence in 1947, Jhabua’s last ruler signed the accession to the Indian Union on 15th June 1948, and Jhabua became the part of Madhya Bharat State. Which is in 1956 was merged into the newly formed state of Madhya Pradesh.

The state was founded by Kunwar Kesho Das, in 1584. He was given the title of Raja by Mughal emperor Jahangir as a reward for a successful campaign in Bengal.

Gopal Singh rules the Jhabua Princely State from 1840 to 1895 AD. The only coins ever minted in the state were Paisa and half Paisa. The obverse has objects like a Stylized leaf, four-lobed flowers while the reverse has VS date in Devanagari script. All coins were struck at Jhabua mint.

The above-shown copper square Paisa weighs around 11.91g was minted in the reign of Gopal Singh. The obverse of the coins depicts the mace within a design while the reverse of the coin illustrates a chequered pattern.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auctions

Knowledge Base