Silver Eight Annas of Zorawar Khan

26 Nov 2018  Mon

Radhanpur State was a Princely State in India during the British Empire. It was established by Jafar Khan in the year 1693. The Nawabs of Radhanpur were Pathans of the Babi family who rose to a high office in the service of Shah Jahan and Murad Bakhsh in Gujarat.

Zorawar Khan ruled the Radhanpur state from 1825 to 1874 AD. During the reign, he issued coins in gold, silver, and copper coins in the denomination of Mohur, Rupee, Paisa, Anna and Falus. All these coins were struck at Radhanpur mint.

Above shown silver 8 Annas of Zorawar Khan was issued in the name of Queen Victoria. The obverse of a coin depicts the Persian legend ‘Nawab Zorawar Khan Bahadur Babi’ with AH1287. The reverse of a coin showed the legend ‘Mallika-e-Moazzima Queen Victoria, Zarb Radhanpur’ with date 1869 AD.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base