Ala Al-Din Bahman Shah Gold Mohur Listed For INR 5,00,000

20 Nov 2018  Tue

Ala Al-Din Bahman Shah had ruled Bahamani Sultanate form 1347 CE to 1359 CE. Original name of Ala Al-Din Bahman Shah was Zafar Khan; he took the title Ala Al-Din Bahaman Shah after sitting on the throne.

Ala Al-Din Bahaman Shah ascended the throne at Daulatabad in the year 1347 CE. After sitting onto the throne he captures Bidar and Kalyani. He also changed the name of his capital Daulatabad to Fathabad. In the later period, he also moved his capital to Gulbarga which he named as ‘Ahsanabad.

Ala Al-Din Bahaman Shah issued coin in all three metals gold, silver, and copper. In silver, he issued the denomination like Tanka, Two-Thrid Tanka, One-third-Tanka, One-Sixth Tanka and One-Twelfth Tanka.

This extremely rare gold mohur issued by Ala-Al-Din Bahaman Shah from the mint Hadrat Fathabad weighs around 10.8g. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘Al-Sultan al ‘Azam ‘Ala al Dunya wa al-Din Abu al-Muzaffar Bahman Shah al-Sultan’. The reverse side of the coin is inscribed as ‘Sikandar al-thani Yameen al-Khilafah Nasir Amir al-Mumineen’ within circle, date and mint name is written in the margin.

Image Courtesy: Oswal Auction

Knowledge Base