First Stamps of the Republic of Dahomey

17 Nov 2018  Sat

Located in West Africa, Dahomey is a tiny country that was a part of a huge and mighty French Empire.

The first stamp of the country was the French colonial stamps used at Porto Novo from 1888. Soon, the colony became the self-governing Republic of Dahomey, and two years later on 1 August 1960, it gained full independence. Stamps inscribed with “Dahomey” were issued again in 1960.

The first stamps of the Republic of Dahomey were issued on 1st April 1960. The stamps depict the unique features of the country.

25 West African CFA francs stamp depicts a beautiful landscape of the Village Ganvie. Village Ganvie is a Lake village. The stamp shows an elderly African man rowing a canoe like boat surrounded by high raised houses.

The stamp with the denomination of 100 West African CFA francs depicts scenery of a Somba village. The stamp shows conical huts in the centre along with the farmers working on a farm.

The highest denominated stamp of 500 West African CFA francs depicts the Royal Palaces of Abomey. The Royal Palaces of Abomey are 12 palaces spread over an area of 40 hectares. It is one of the biggest and the most fragile World Heritage Site in Africa.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base