Coinage of Udai Singh

14 Nov 2018  Wed

Durganpur Princely State was founded by Samant Singh, the eldest son of Karan Singh in the year 1197 AD. They were the descendants of Bappa Rawal, the eight rulers of Guhilot Dynasty, and also the founder of Mewar dynasty. The chiefs of Dungarpur bore the title of Maharwal and are descended from Mahup. They consequently claimed that they belonged to an elder branch of the family which ruled Mewar.

The last Maharawal of Dungarpur, Lakshman Singh acceded his state to the newly formed Union of India in 1948 and today Dungarpur the part of Rajasthan state.

Udai Singh ruled the Dungarpur Princely State from 1852 to 1898 AD. During the reign, he issued gold and copper coins in the denomination of Nazarana Mohur, Mohur, and Paisa from Dungarpur mint. The copper Paisa of Udai Singh which is represented above was sold for INR 2,600 by Classical Numismatic Gallery. The obverse of a coin depicts the Sword and Jhar symbol while the reverse depicts the Nagari legend ‘Sarkar Dungarpur’ in two lines.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base