Silver Timasha of Lallat Shah

12 Nov 2018  Mon

The meaning of Garhwal is ‘country of forts’. It was a Princely State ruled by a Gharwali Rajput dynasty in the northwestern Uttarakhand of India. During British Raj, it came under the authority of ‘Punjab Hill States Agency’. Garhwal is situated currently in the Tehri Garhwal and Uttarkashi district. It was merged with the Union of India in August 1949.

Lallat Shah ruled the Garhwal Princely State from 1772 to 1781 AD. The only coin ever minted in the state were copper Taca and silver Timasha. These coins were struck at Srinagar mint and are found in round and irregular shapes.

Coin represented above belongs to the reign of Lallat Shah. This coin was issued in the name of Shah Alam II. The Persian legend ‘Sikka Mubarak Shah Alam Badshah Gazi’ depicted on the obverse of a coin while reverse showed the legend ‘Sarb Srinagar Julus Mainamat Manus Sanah 1189’.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base