Silver Rupee of Shah Jahan III

03 Nov 2018  Sat

Shah Jahan III, also known as Muhi-ul-millat, was the Mughal Emperor for a brief period. He was the son of Muhi-us-sunnat, the eldest son of Muhammad Kam Baksh. He was placed on the Mughal throne in December 1759 in Delhi with the help of Imad-ul-Mulk. He was later deposed by Maratha Sardars.

During the reign, he issued gold, silver, and copper coins in the denomination of Mohur, Rupee, and Dam. The various mints were Ahmadabad, Ahmadnagara Farrukhabad, Akbarabad, Azimabad, Hasanabad, Mahindrapur, Shahjahanabad, and Surat.

This Silver Rupee of Shah Jahan III was issued from Hasanabad mint in 1174 AH. The obverse shows the Persian legend ‘Sikka Mubarak Badshah Gazi Shah Jahan’ with AH 1174. The reverse depicts the mint name, RY, and Julus formula which read as ‘Zarb Hasanabad Sanah Ahad Julus Mainamat Manus’.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base