Dewas Princely State

01 Nov 2018  Thu

During the British Raj, Dewas was the seat of twin Maratha princely states in the Malwa Political Charge of the Central India Agency. It was divided into two branches- senior and junior or ‘Baba Sahib’ and ‘Dada Sahib’ branch. The circumstances of the Dewas States were unusual. Though they were virtually two distinct chiefships with separate administrations, they shared the same capital town and ruled over separate areas. Their territories were split up into several portions and chiefly situated in the Bhopal and Malwa Agency Political Charges.

Narayan Rao ruled the Dewas Princely State from 1864 to 1892 AD. He issued silver and copper coins in the denomination of Paisa and Annas series. These coins were struck at Allote and Dewas mint.

The above-shown copper quarter Anna of Narayan Rao was sold for INR 6,700 by Classical Numismatic Gallery. The obverse of a coin portrait the bust of Victoria Empress facing left side while reverse depicted Value and date in Roman script.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base