Centenary of the Multan Campaign

30 Oct 2018  Tue

Issued on 15th October 1948, the Centenary of the Multan Campaign is one of the famous stamps of Bahawalpur.

Bahawalpur is a city located in the Punjab province of Pakistan. Founded in 1748, Bahawalpur was the capital of the former princely state of Bahawalpur, ruled by the Abbasi family of nawabs until 1955. The Bahawalpur state issued the stamps up to 1949.

On 15th October 1948, Bahawalpur issued a very significant stamp commemorating the 100th year of the Multan Campaign. Also known as the Siege of Multan, the Multan Campaign was a prolonged contest between the city and state of Multan and the British East India Company. The siege lasted between 19 April 1848 and 22 January 1849, when the last defenders surrendered.

To commemorate this nationalist event, Bahawalpur post issued a stamp with the denomination 1½ Pakistani anna. The stamp depicts a decorative arch under which two soldiers are standing. The soldiers depict a 100 years of difference in their costumes. The stamp basically portrays a now and then picture and the development in the army.

Image Courtesy: https://colnect.com

Knowledge Base