Coinage of Maharaja Mangal Singh

17 Oct 2018  Wed

Alwar Princely State was established by Rao Pratap Singh, a Rajput chieftain of the Naruka Clan. He was a descendant of the family which had ruled Jaipur in the 14th-century CE.

Mangal Singh was a sixth Maharaja to rule the Alwar State, holding the position for almost 18 years from 1874 to 1892 AD. During the reign, he issued gold, silver, and copper coins from Rajgarh mints. The denominations were known as Nazarana Rupe, Nazarana Takka, Rupee, and Paisa.

One of his silver Rupee is listed for 10,000 to 12,000 at Classical Numismatic Gallery. The obverse side of a coin depicts bust of Queen Victoria with the crown and royal robes with the divided legend “Victoria Empress” within the toothed rim. The reverse features the inscription in Persian “Maharaja Sri Sawai Mangal Singh Bahadur” and the date 1891 AD.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base