Independence Stamps of Biafra

11 Oct 2018  Thu

The Republic of Biafra was a secessionist state in south-eastern Nigeria which existed from 30 May 1967 to 15 January 1970. The authorities in Biafra issued banknotes and postage stamps in order to assert their claim to sovereignty.

After independence, the Post Office in Biafra continued to use Nigerian stamps until they ran out when a "postage paid" cachet was applied instead until the first stamps were issued. The first stamps of Biafra were issued on 5 February 1968 and consisted of three values to mark Biafran "independence".

A set of three stamps were issued few months after the independence. The stamps were issued with the denominations 2Biafran penny, 4Biafran penny and 1Biafran shilling. The stamps depict some national symbols and are inscribed with “INDEPENDENCE 30th May 1967” at the bottom.

The 2Biafran penny stamp depicts map of the country.
The 4Biafran penny stamp depicts flag and coat of arms of the country.
The 1Biafran shilling stamp depicts a mother and a child looking up at sunrise.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base