State Bank of India Commemorative Coin

11 Oct 2018  Thu

State Bank of India is popularly known as SBI, it one of the leading bank of Indian multinational, public sector and financial service company. The SBI states it origin to the first decade of 19th Century. SBI traces its ancestry, to the foundation of Bank of Calcutta, on 2nd June 1806; later Bank of Calcutta was renamed as Bank of Bengal. Om 27th January 1921, the three presidency bank namely Bank of Madras, Bank of Calcutta and Bank of Bengal merged together to form one imperial bank and they were renamed as State Bank of India.

The Indian government had issued 5 rupees commemorative coin with the theme of SBI. The obverse of this coin depicts the logo of SBI in the center with the date 1806 on the left side and date 2006 on the right side of the logo. The inscription ‘BHARTIYA STATE BANK’ is written on the top; and the inscription ‘STATE BANK OF INDIA’ at the bottom. The reverse side of the coin depicts ‘Ashoka Lion’ in the centre with the inscription ‘Satyameva Jayate’ and the value ‘5’ below, the inscription ‘Bharat’ and ‘India’ is written on the left and right side of the coin.

Image Courtesy: Mintage World

Knowledge Base